30 things about me

May As Well Event had a fun post describing 30 things about herself that some other bloggers have hopped on- I thought I would, too!

  1. I was a very active mixed martial arts participant in college; two of my roommates (my best friend and her now-husband) were MMA competitors who encouraged me to give it a try.  My training was in Muay Thai; I loved the aggressive, rapid-fire fighting style and really enjoyed sparring with other students. I’d like to take it up again some day, but finding an MMA gym that works with my budget and schedule has been difficult.
  2. I don’t have cable or any streaming services. Johnny and I haven’t had cable in several years, but we kept our NBA TV and Netflix subscriptions until we moved to our current house. Out here in the sticks, our internet options are slow and overpriced; we use the hotspot feature on our phones. We cancelled our streaming services shortly after moving and haven’t looked back. We now watch maybe an hour of TV a day, and it’s almost always something on Create TV (a public television network).
  3. I retained my maiden name after I got married in 2015, and I feel like I ought to keep a pocket copy of my marriage license handy. I’m regarded with suspicion by everyone from tag agency employees to plumbers. 
  4. I hate home improvement projects. HATE THEM. When I was unemployed a few years ago, I convinced myself I could totally remodel the master bathroom. I went on a demolition spree with the reciprocating saw and tore out the shower, sink, and cabinetry. I went to a how-to class at a tile shop, bought supplies, and quickly became super frustrated with the project and myself. The master bathroom sat unfinished until the Great Sewer Disaster of 2016 when we had half the house remodeled in the interest of sanitation. These days, I take on very easy projects (like installing low-flow shower heads) and pay professionals for everything else.
  5. I’m a total extrovert! I love being around people, chatting with strangers, hosting parties, speaking in public, and joining groups. (My Myers-Briggs personality type is ESFP.)
  6. I only owned tan breeches until approximately 2011, when someone gave me a pair of black ones. I’ve since branched out into navy, gray, and purple!
  7. I’m an adventurous eater- the only things I really despise are pudding and Jell-O.
  8. I love to read, and have read 50 books every year for the last 3 years. In 2015 and 2016, I limited myself to books I’d never read before, because I have a tendency to re-read old favorites endlessly. My favorite genres are fantasy and sci-fi, though I don’t care for the dystopian kind.
  9. I enjoy cooking; experimenting with new recipes and ingredients is a creative outlet for me.
  10. I drink my coffee black. I occasionally enjoy a latte, but my go-to is an americano (with extra espresso) or a simple cup of brewed coffee.
  11. My dream vacation is a multi-day horseback riding tour in Iceland. I hope to make this a reality in the next couple of years!
  12. I think the stock market is super interesting. While there’s a lot about it that I don’t fully understand, I try to educate myself so I can make informed decisions about investing.

    Riding in the NCEA hunter ring in college.
  13. While I self-identify as an eventer, I’ve also participated in several other equestrian disciplines: dressage, hunters, foxhunting, and polo. I often think about returning to polo- it’s the most fun I’ve ever had on a horse!
  14. I’m a cat person. I don’t dislike dogs (I have two of them!), but I love cats for their independence, personality, and weirdness.
  15. My degree is in natural resources management with concentration in soil science and a minor in biology. I seriously considered studying graphic/web design in college, but discarded the idea because I thought web design would soon become something everyone did for themselves.
  16. I drink between 96 and 160 ounces of water every day. I have a 32-ounce Nalgene bottle that goes everywhere with me, so it’s easy to stay hydrated.
  17. I’ve been to 29 of 50 states; most of the northeast is still on my to-visit list!
  18. As a kid, my parents encouraged me to try lots of other sports in addition to horseback riding. I tried dance, gymnastics, swimming, soccer, cheerleading, and track and field. I also took piano lessons and drawing lessons.
  19. I like to play video games to unwind. I tend to fixate on a game and play it until I’ve squeezed all possibilities out of it. The Mass Effect and Elder Scrolls series are my favorites.
  20. I hate running almost as much as I hate home improvement projects! It stresses me out and makes me feel like I’m punishing myself.
  21. Part of me really wants to be a hip, city-dwelling person who lives in a cool part of town in a neat house. I’m not sure that will ever happen with five cats, two dogs, and three (almost four!) horses, but it’s fun to think about.
  22. I’ve been employed at my current job (web/marketing manager for a tack store) for three and a half years- the longest I’ve ever been employed anywhere!
  23. I’m not big on movies. I see three or four a year in theaters, and almost never watch them at home. I don’t dislike them; it’s more like I don’t enjoy movies enough to devote time to watching them.
  24. The best gift I ever received was a year’s subscription to a cheese of the month club. I love cheese.
  25. I have an irrational fear of cockroaches. They creep me out, and when I see one, I don’t like thinking there are probably hundreds more I’m not seeing.
  26. When I sleep, I don’t usually dream. When I do, my dreams fall firmly into one of two camps: extremely mundane, everyday tasks (e.g. paying the car insurance) or horrifically gory events (e.g. walking into a town where all the inhabitants have been brutally slaughtered).
  27. I donate blood every 56 days like it’s my job. I am a universal donor (type O-), and giving blood is a fast, easy way for me to help people. I don’t have a lot of money or time to donate, but I have plenty of blood!

    Arm scar!
  28. I have a plate and several screws in my right humerus. Very long-time readers will remember that I fractured it way back in 2012 when I was working at a therapeutic riding center. I was assessing a horse for the program, and he bucked me off. My arm doesn’t bother me very often these days, though certain types of movements will cause a twinge. And, you know, I have a giant scar running from elbow to shoulder!

    It me
  29. Every year for my birthday, I go out for Mexican food and drink at least one margarita that’s the size of my head.
  30. I once used brute force to get out of an escape room. My team (Johnny’s sister, grandmother, and cousin) had figured out the clues that led to box which contained the room’s key, but couldn’t figure the combination to the lock. Time was running out, so I pried open the box enough to shake out the key. I feel like this is an accurate representation of my problem solving skills.

Author: Stephanie

Equestrian, amateur cook, people person.

11 thoughts on “30 things about me”

  1. I admire that you give blood so often – what a wonderful thing to do. And man, I want that margarita so bad right now…it’ not even noon as I write this…

  2. OMG your brute force comment in the escape room… I’d totally do that! Also, next time we are in the same place we MUST EAT CHEESE.

  3. Love this hop! I’m working on it now… but 30 is a lot of things! I’m guessing that horse failed out of the therapy program? That’s a bad ass scar though.
    Also, you know who to call if you want to come to the northeast… I have guest rooms!

  4. I had thought about doing this post for myself, but after reading yours I think I’ll pass. LOL. You are a refreshingly interesting person, Stephanie! I love learning things like this!

  5. Wow! It’s amazing how much I’m learning about everyone based on a post idea I tore from youtube. hahaha. The stock market is interesting… and not totally rational. I have my degree in it… I have been in the industry for several years now, and I still don’t think it really makes any sense.

Leave a Reply